Getting Started

I’ve been using the excuse that I haven’t finished polishing up this blog as a reason to not yet post any content. This is a terrible excuse. So today I decided to stop procrastinating and begin my journey. Mondays, after all, are an excellent day to begin projects.

This project is really for me more than you. I am one of those classic procrastinators that says something to the effect of, “I really want to be a writer!”, then proceeds to write absolutely nothing. As an introvert, I thrive on ideas, concepts, imaginings… I live in my head. I have a lot of ideas that I think would make really great stories – that I think other people would really enjoy. I just have a hard time getting started. Sometimes it’s because I don’t feel like I have the words, other times it’s because I’m not “in the mood” to write, and sometimes I’m afraid that if I put the idea down it will pull the cork of the epic story bath I’ve been drawing and all ideas will be drained out – the inspiration baby thrown out with the bath water. Did that make sense? Probably not. Oh, well.

Enter: this blog.

This is a place where I will practice my writing. Some say that you need to learn the tools of the trade. You can’t be a plumber if you don’t have a wrench or know how to fix a leaky pipe – how could you be a writer without knowing… whatever it is writers know? What do writers know? Do they diagram sentences? Have they memorized all the categorizations of fallacies that I learned in my freshman year of English? Perhaps they know books. Stephen King says that if you want to write, you have to read. However, arming yourself with an entire library of other people’s works does not seem like a box of tools. More like a really extensive manual or something. Anyway, that’s what some writers say. Others – lots of my favorites – say you just need to do it; just write.

Write even when you don’t feel like it. Write when the weather is good, write when it’s bad. Write when you’ve had a fabulous day, a crappy day, or just a day of no particular consequence. Write on the same storyline or a hundred different ones – just do it. (Thanks, Nike.)

(…that was Nike, right? “Just do it.”?)

So here I am, writing. Practicing. I don’t know exactly what kind of posts will come out of this or if they’ll be any good. I don’t know if anyone will read them. Whatever the outcome, that’s just dandy. I just have to do it. And here, I commit to doing it every day.

…this might be a bit difficult.

Oh, P.S. – I thought that was going to be the end, there, but I just noticed the word counter at the bottom of this text box. I think it would probably be a good idea to commit to writing ‘500 words a day’ or more so I that I don’t get super lazy and cop-out with a post like, “Today I ate a sandwich.” That’s what twitter is for anyway, right? So yes, 500 words a day. Should there be punishments if I don’t complete my own challenge? I’m in the process of watching all of the VlogBrothers‘ videos (hoo! ha! Nerdfighter!!) on YouTube and thought the punishments were/are hilariously fantastic and a great motivation for holding to a commitment. If anyone reads this, let me know what you think!

(I’ve added this form in case any potential non-WordPress readers want to provide feedback. Also, I like playing around with WordPress features.)

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “Getting Started

  1. Pingback: Blogiversary! | Frippits.

Leave a Reply

